Site Map

Jul 23, 2001

Soft Market for Educational Software The market for off-the-shelf CD-based educational software is beginning to wane. By Sharon Tan, Knight-Ridder News Service, July 23, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

E-learning: Online Training Cuts Costs From the "where's the money" department comes this item showing that companies can save a lot of money using online learning. The catch? It costs a lot of money to set up, and it is cost-efficient only in large scale enterprises. By Patrice Gibbons, BRW, July 20, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

Ancient Egypt, With a Pager as Your Guide Interesting item showing how wireless access devices are used to enhance a child's experience in a museum visit. By Catherine Greenman, the New York Times, July 19, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

Lexical Approach to Second Language Teaching The ERIC Clearinghouse on Languages and Linguistics has published a new ERIC Digest regarding the lexical approach to second language teaching. This Digest provides an overview of the methodological foundations underlying the lexical approach and the pedagogical implications suggested by them. By Olga Moudraia, June, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

Service Makes Fans of Librarians and Scholars JSTOR (it doesn't stand for anything - probably just 'Journal Storage') - scans old journals, puts the pages into a database, and made the contents available online, at a price. No word on author royalties. The nonprofit company's mission is twofold: to preserve and maintain journal literature, and to make that material more accessible. The Chronicle spin is that the service is popular with librarieans. It is also popular with publishers. JSTOR does not post current or recent issues of journals, so as not to undermine their subscription bases. Oh yes, obviously the best way to distribute up-to-date research is on paper by mail... Scott Carlson, the Chronicle of Higher Education, July 27, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

A Library to End All Libraries It's called the Digital Object Identifier (DOI) for e-Books (DOI-EB). The main point here is to create a bottleneck... all links to published materials will point to the DOI site; online texts will be routed from the publisher's site through the DOI site and thence to the user... provided they've paid their fees. The spin is a bit different: the purpose of the site is to be able to uniquely identify and locate content. Either way, it represents yet another take on the idea that people should pay publishers for content, even if the work isn't really 'published' any more. By Stephen H. Wildstrom, Business Week, July 23, 2001. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

DOI-EB Demo Demonstration of the DOI indexing system. Here the purpose is pretty clear: to sell content and online books to the customer, and to aid in direct marketing. Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

E-Learning Fuels IT Expenditures at U.S. Colleges With the widespread acceptance of e-learning comes a tremendous opportunity for IT suppliers. IT expenditures are expected to exceed $5 billion by 2005 as 90 percent of educational institutions offer online learning. The article is a teaser for a paid report, but the stats are too interesting to let pass by. July 16, IDG.Net Submitted on Jul 23, 2001 [Refer]

[About This NewsLetter] [OLDaily Archives] [Send me your comments]